Civilian Jobs

Civilian (non-sworn) police employees are responsible for many of the important functions within the department. Because SPD civilian employees work directly with police, they are required to pass a background check and be comfortable in a law enforcement environment that handles sensitive and confidential materials.

See qualifications for Civilian Employees

We hire civilian positions for a variety of roles in the Department such as information technology, working with police records and administrative functions. We also hire frequently for civilian roles in specialized policing functions such as Latent Print Examiners and Trainees, and ID Technicians.

Find & Apply for a Job

  • To apply online you first need to register an account with the City Personnel NeoGov System.
    If you have applied for any jobs using a NeoGov account before (King County or Washington State) you are already in the system and can login using that account.

  • Apply for civilian police jobs through the City Personnel Job Opportunities section.

  • Once in the Job Opportunities page, you can find all the jobs available at SPD by selecting "Seattle Police" as the Department.

  • If you know the position you are looking for, you can type that title into the search field.
The Seattle Police Department is an equal opportunity employer that values diversity in its workforce. At SPD we acknowledge and honor the fundamental value and dignity of all individuals and pledge ourselves to creating and maintaining an environment that respects diverse traditions, heritages, and experiences.


Sue Rahr, Interim Chief of Police
Address: 610 5th Avenue, Seattle, WA, 98104-1900
Mailing Address: PO Box 34986, Seattle, WA, 98124-4986
Phone: (206) 625-5011
Contact Us

Newsletter Updates


Sign up for the latest updates from Police

The Seattle Police Department (SPD) prevents crime, enforces laws, and supports quality public safety by delivering respectful, professional, and dependable police services. SPD operates within a framework that divides the city into five geographical areas called "precincts".